The National Heavy Vehicle Regulator (NHVR) administers one set of laws (the HVNL) for heavy vehicles over 4.5 tonnes gross vehicle mass. The HVNL consists of the Heavy Vehicle National Law* and five sets of regulations.

The HVNL commenced on 10 February 2014 in the Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania and Victoria. Each of them passed a law that either adopts or duplicates the HVNL (with some modifications) as a law of that State or Territory.

Although the HVNL has not commenced in Western Australia or the Northern Territory at this time, the HVNL applies equally to vehicles from those jurisdictions when they cross into one of the states or territories where the HVNL applies. In some cases, drivers may also need to comply with certain aspects of the HVNL before they cross the border (eg. work diary requirements).

*The HVNL is the schedule to the Heavy Vehicle National Law Act 2012 (Qld).

Visit NHVR: